My 12 Days of Christmas

 

 

yckbaxkceOn the first day of Christmas I had just left to do

Set up my big artificial tree

 

On the second day of Christmas I had just left to do

Making out my list

And fix the lights upon my  Christmas tree

 

On the third day of Christmas I had just left to do

Hours of choir rehearsal

I can’t find my list

And get the baby out the tree

 

On the fourth day of Christmas I had just left to do

Where to hide the presents

gotta go to practice

one thing off the list

and fix the garland on that gosh darn tree

 

On the fifth day of Christmas I had just left to do

Leave the Mall parking lot

Wrap another gift

Practice yet again

Wow that list is long

And keep the cats from killing the tree.

On the sixth day of Christmas I had just left to do

buy some more scotch tape

Leave the Mall parking lot

Wrap another gift

practice yet again

three things off that list

and Ignore the sad state of my Christmas tree

 

One the seventh day of Christmas I had just left to do

eat a Christmas cookie

out of tape again?

I hate the Mall right now

Wrap another gift

practice Christmas songs

two more off my list

And regret putting up a Christmas tree

 

On the eighth day of Christmas I had just left to do

Ship to distant family

Eat a plate of cookies

use up all the tape

Move cars, oh please just move!

Wrap another gift

Yes I’m gonna sing

list is getting small

And note the lack of branches on the tree

On the ninth day of Christmas I had just left to do

Pose for Christmas pictures

Ship to distant family

bake more yummy cookies

why can’t I keep tape?

I give up, I’ll sleep in my car

Wrap another gift

La, la, la, la, la

list is almost done

and shoo the cats sleeping in the Christmas tree

 

On the tenth day of Christmas I had just left to do

Oh, no, my pants are too small

Pose for Christmas pictures

Ship to distant family

eat up all the cookies

use glue instead of  tape

Avoid the shopping mall

wrap a few more gifts

hear carols in my sleep

lost that list again

and pick  the tree topper up off  the floor

 

On the eleventh day of Christmas I had just left to do

cook for all my in laws

break out  stretchy pants

ship to distant family

no cookies? Where’s the fudge

use string, out of glue

Shop on line next year!

Wrap up the last gift

gonna sing again

list is finally done

And decide that tree looks just  fine almost naked.

 

On the twelfth day of Christmas I had just left to do

love the ones I hold dear

eat with all the family

lounge in comfy pj’s

call that distant family

Share some home made goodies

plan to buy more scotch tape

No mall Hurray! It’s Closed

Open all the gifts

Go to Christmas concert

start a brand new list

And take down that sad, sad, Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

