Considering Cancer Awareness

cancer

 

 

 

 

 

I  got the following email from a reader the other day. Heather writes:

 I’m reaching out to you today in hopes that you will help me with a cause that is very near and dear to my heart. At age 36, just 3 ½ months after my first and only child, Lily, was born, I was diagnosed with mesothelioma and given 15 months to live. Miraculously, I beat the odds and I’m still here eight years later.

Mesothelioma is considered one of the most aggressive and deadly cancers; most people are given just one year to live upon diagnosis. There is no known cure for mesothelioma and the future continues to look grim as attention to the disease as well as research funding continues to decline. The only known cause of ‘meso’ is exposure to asbestos, which is still not banned in the US. Sadly, it doesn’t look like asbestos will be banned anytime soon, as there is too much money being made by using this deadly mineral.

Since May is National Cancer Research Month, I’ve made it my personal mission to try and spread awareness of this rare, preventable disease. The more people that know about this cancer, the more lives are potentially saved! Would you be willing to share the site that I blog for with your readers? The Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance has tons of information about the disease, asbestos exposure, and is also where my husband and I blog about our journey with mesothelioma.

Please let me know what you think 🙂 From awareness grows hope. Each voice could save a life.

 

Of course I agreed to share her letter. I admit I knew little about Mesothelioma other then those class action suit commercials paid for by some attorney’s office hoping to get rich off of other people’s suffering, (a rant for another day). I didn’t know asbestos exposure was the only known cause of this very deadly cancer.

Heather is correct, May is cancer awareness month. On Mother’s Day I went to a minor league baseball game. They handed out pink t-shirts and carnations to all the moms, and there was a a lot of hub-bub about breast cancer. I’m glad for the focus, as I lost my step-mom to breast cancer. But I have to wonder if we shouldn’t also be working to eradicate, or at least better the treatment options for the other cancers out there. How many of us have lost friends or family to cancer? How many of us know someone suffering right now?

I want to see an end to a disease that sickens so many using such diversity to do so. I want people not to suffer surgeries or treatments that cause them pain. I want people not have to worry about losing everything they own, just to be able to help one family member live, even if its only for a few months, because of the incredible costs of treatment.

I’m just one voice, with a little blog. I am also an empath, who feels deeply, other people’s suffering. Heather and her family want a cure. She wants to see her kids grow up, just like my sister-in-law  who is also fighting another form or cancer. We can all help, in small ways, as we look for the means to end a disease that robs so much from us.

2 responses to “Considering Cancer Awareness

  1. pixiewildflower

    Damn cancer has taken too many people I care about.

    • As I was writing this, I thought about the people I know who’ve had cancer, and the two family members I lost to it. That is two people too many.

Leave a Reply

