Solitude And Silence

2006-03-04-20-55-26I seek the elusive

In the cacophony of life.

A time of silence, solitude

A brief escape from the noise

And weight of the day to day

I know they are out there,

Sometimes apart, often together

Usually ignored or forgotten

Because action, clamor

Get favored attention.

Sometimes I catch them unaware

So I snatch them quick,

Before they escape,

Knowing that solitude coupled with silence

Is rare and exquisite.

Then I bask in the quiet,

Resting, healing, blissfully alone

As I shore up my defenses.

Too soon they’ll slip away again,

My grip too tenuous to keep them.

Leave a Reply

